The different types of AFIB


If atrial fibrillation stops within a short time it is called paroxysmal, but if atrial fibrillation is continuously present, or continues for prolonged periods, it is persistent. When the normal heart rhythm cannot be restored atrial fibrillation is termed permanent. These types of atrial fibrillation have a varied response to therapy and are therefore managed differently.


Paroxysmal Episodes of atrial fibrillation that last less than 7 days.
Persistent An episode of atrial fibrillation lasting longer than 7 days.
Longstanding persistent An episode of atrial fibrillation lasting longer than 1 year.
Permanent When no attempt is made or it is not possible to restore the normal rhythm.



Related Pages

Useful Tools

Preparing for a catheter ablation checklist


Preparing for your first consultation with a physician checklist


AF diagnosis and follow-up checklist


Find my specialist

Learn more

Click to print these tools to help you prepare for your appointments

This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.